June 2023

  • Congratulations to Dr. Pedro Fernandez-Funez on being selected for the inaugural Provost’s Unit Service Award. Dr. Fernandez-Funez has been selected for his exceptional service and contributions that have strengthened the operations and climate of his department. Fernanez-Funez is an associate professor in the Department of Biomedical Sciences and the director of the Gateways to Medicine and Research MS program, which launches fall of 2023. READ MORE>>


    Dr. Pedro Fernandez-Funez UMN
  • Seeking nominations for annual alumni awards! These important honors include the Harold S. Diehl Award, the Distinguished Alumni Award and the Early Distinguished Career Alumni Award. Nominations require two letters of recommendation and a CV for the candidate and are due by June 21, 2023.

    Opportunity Icon Gray
  • Expand all

    University of Minnesota's 2nd Annual Juneteenth Block Party | June 17

    Come celebrate the University of Minnesota's 2nd Annual Juneteenth Block Party, "The Art of Freedom: Joy. Resistance. Rest," on Saturday June 17 from 12:00 to 6:00 p.m. at the Robert J. Jones Research and Outreach-Engagement Center, 2001 Plymouth Ave N, Minneapolis. LEARN MORE>>

    Medical School at 2023 Pride Festival | June 24-25

    The 2023 Twin Cities Pride Festival is June 24-25 in Loring Park, Minneapolis. Stop by to visit our Medical School, M Physicians and M Health Fairview booths in the Living Well area in Loring Park and pick up some Medical School swag. We are still looking for volunteers to represent us at the festival! LEARN MORE>>

    Department of Family Medicine and Community Health Grand Rounds | July 12

    The Department of Family Medicine and Community Health will hold July Grand Rounds event, titled "Moving from Surviving to Thriving"
    on July 12, 2023, from 12:05 to 1:00 p.m. on Zoom. LEARN MORE AND REGISTER>>

    Department of Anesthesiology Recruitment Dinner | Aug 1

    The Dept. of Anesthesiology is holding a recruitment dinner on August 1 for all MD/PhD students to learn about the anesthesiology residency program. The event will be from 5-8 pm at the Campus Club and will feature a happy hour and dinner, networking and short presentations. RSVP>>

    CLHSS Learning Health System Sciences Conference | Sep 18-19

    The Center for Learning Health System Sciences (CLHSS) is announcing its inaugural Advances in Learning Health System Sciences conference to be held on September 18 & 19, 2023, at the Union Depot in Saint Paul. LEARN MORE AND REGISTER>>

  • Congratulations to Dr. Cathy McCarty (Department of Family Medicine and Biobehavioral Health), who has been selected as a Best Female Scientist in the world for the 2022 ranking by Research.com. She has published more than 450 peer-reviewed manuscripts and is a valued mentor. LEARN MORE>>

    Dr. Catherine McCarty UMN
  • Drs. Dawn Lowe and Antoinette Moran have been recognized for their exceptional commitment to mentoring with the 2023 Carole J. Bland Award for Outstanding Faculty Mentorship. Mentors are essential to fostering personal and professional growth in the Medical School, and we are grateful to Drs. Lowe and Moran for being extraordinary examples for us all. READ MORE>>

    Dr. Dawn Lowe and Dr. Antoinette Moran UMN
  • Congratulations to undergraduate researchers Madelyn Blake and Ronin Cosiquien for receiving the competitive Astronaut Scholarship! The Astronaut Scholarship is awarded by the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation to junior and senior college students in STEM fields. Blake is an research assistant in the Prins Lab with Dr. Kurt Prins, and Cosiquien is a research assistant with Dr. Jonathan Sembrano. READ MORE>>

    Madelyn Blake and Ronin Cosiquien UMN
  • Dr. Byron Vaughn has been selected as a 2023-2024 Fulbright U.S. Scholar for Uganda. Fulbright Scholar Awards are prestigious and competitive fellowships that provide unique opportunities to teach and conduct research abroad. Awardees also help create long-term relationships between people and nations. Alumni of the program have gone on to receive honors like the Nobel and Pulitzer prizes and MacArthur Fellowships. READ MORE>>

    Dr. Byron Vaughn UMN
  • Dr. Alice Lehman, second-year fellow, was one of four awardees of the highly competitive and prestigious LEAP Fellowship through the Infectious Diseases Society of America. This $100,000 training award is given to four promising young infectious diseases physicians each year and is funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. LEARN MORE>>

    Dr. Alice Lehman UMN
  • Dr. Benjamin Rosenstein received the Geriatric Academic Career Award (GACA) sponsored by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA). The four-year award supports the career development of junior faculty as academic geriatricians. He will use the support of GACA to help existing education programs in geriatrics work together and ensure health profession students are receiving training in geriatrics in their training, as well as expanding primary training sites to nursing homes.

    Dr. Benjamin Rosenstein UMN
  • Dr. Michael Tsai has been awarded the American Association for Clinical Chemistry Academy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Chemistry in a Selected Area of Research. He is being recognized for his pioneering work in genetic and phenotypic biomarkers for cardiovascular disease risk assessment and as one of the world's foremost authorities in this area. LEARN MORE>>

    Dr. Michael Tsai UMN